User system

Changing the admin password

Staff member group management

Blocking an account

Unblocking an account

Assigning a new user password

Registered users and groups

Sites/directories with password protection – secure areas


The bluetronix software distinguishes three types of users. They are administrators, staff members and registered users.

 

 

Admins

An admin has access to all functions of the software. They can create sites and directories, create staff member accounts and change their passwords. They have access to PHP code, to the site manager and to the FTP access.

 

Staff members

A staff member can actively participate in designing the website. They can be authorised to create web sites and directories in certain user directories. An e-mail address and certain software modules can be delegated to staff members. They can be promoted to an admin.

 

Registered users and groups

Normally these users do not have access to the editing mode, but access to certain password protected areas can be delegated to them. For example forum sites or internal sites are password protected.

Changing the admin password

In the main menu open the  User management. Click on Administrator password / User password. Enter the previous password and a new password twice for confirmation. Then click onto Change password. After changing the password successfully, log out by pressing  Logout and log in again with the new password.

Staff member group management

The following example shows the management of staff members. The aim is to create a staff member and to authorise them to edit pages in the News directory.

 

First open  User management -> Staff member log-in management. At ‚New user’ enter a user name, for example ‚editor’ and click on Create.

 

The next step is to assign a password to the new staff member. Click on Password next to the user name. Enter a new password and to confirm the typing enter it again. Now click on Change password.

 

To authorise this newly created user account, click on Change.

 

 

 

 

 

This opens the user settings window, where you can authorise a staff member to access pages, statistics and e-mail.

 

It is possible to assign one or more e-mail addresses to a staff member. Just enter an e-mail address (separated by space if more than one) into the e-mail field. This allows the user to access these addresses, but not to create or delete email addresses. E-mail addresses need to be created beforehand as shown in the chapter Create e-mail addresses. To authorise a staff member to manage all e-mail addresses, activate the ‘E-mail’ module. The option ‘assign full admin authorisation’ promotes the staff member to a full admin. This admin account can use all functions of the software, except for changing the password of another admin account.

 

Within the user directory you can assign directories for images, documents and sites to a user. By leaving a field blank the user account has no right to upload files or to create sites and directories. In this example, the directory /img has been assigned as the location to save images.

 

 Take care not assigning the same directory to multiple users to avoid interference.

 

Through the field ‘user can edit the following directories’ certain sites and directories can be assigned to the staff member for editing only. This means they are only allowed to edit existent sites, but are not able to create or delete any pages or directories. In this example this is the /News directory.

 

 

 

Finally Save your new settings. To check the new account, Log out and login again using the newly created staff member name.

 

Blocking an account

Sometimes it makes more sense to block an account than to delete it. As an example a registered user violated forum rules. If their account is blocked, its settings will be saved in the account manager and a new attempt to register with the same e-mail address will fail. Furthermore a previously blocked account can be unblocked by an admin. This is not possible with a deleted account.

 

To block an account open the  User management ->Staff member log-in management or the Account manager -> Registered users and groups. Select the user account and click Block. The status symbol of the account will turn red. All attempts to log-in with this user account will be denied.

Unblocking an account

An administrator has the authority to change a user’s password without knowing their current password. This is necessary if a user forgot their password. At  User management ->Staff member log-in management or  User management -> Registered users and groups select the user name and press Unblock. The status symbol will now be green. From now on the user has access to his account again.

Assigning a new user password

As admin you have the authority to change a user’s password without knowing their current password. This is necessary if a user forgot his password. At  User management ->Staff member log-in management or  User management -> Registered users and groups click on Password next to the user name. Enter a new password and for confirmation re-enter it again, then click on Change password.

Give the new password to the user.

 

 The function ‘forgot my password’ is accessible for registered users in the module ‘secure areas’. Using this module, allows users to request a new password automatically. For more details see Secure areas.

Registered users and groups

For further information please refer to the chapter Secure areas.

Sites/directories with password protection – secure areas

For further information please refer to the chapter Secure areas.